Explore Herriot country in Thirsk

With its cobbled streets and cosy tearooms, this rural Yorkshire market town is steeped in old-world charm.

Thirsk is also known for being the home of vet and author James Herriot. Fans of All Creatures Great and Small flock from all over to The World of James Herriot. This award-winning museum is based in his original surgery, where you can interact with studio sets and get hands-on with veterinary equipment.

Have a flutter at Thirsk Racecourse

Fancy a day at the races? Surrounded by open countryside, Thirsk Racecourse gives you stunning views of the North York Moors as you cheer on your horses - hopefully to victory.

Flat racing is held between April and September every year, and you can enjoy an affordable day out in the Family Enclosure. Accompanied under-18s go free.

Tour the captivating Dales and Moors

With both the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors on your doorstep, you're truly spoilt for choice on a visit to Thirsk. Rolling hills run into spectacular limestone valleys, so put your best foot forward to explore. Wander among the ruins of Rievaulx Abbey or magnificent Mount Grace Priory, built by medieval monks. Or while away an afternoon in a cosy pub in Masham, which has a long history of beer-making, with both the Black Sheep and Theakston breweries based in the town.

Looking for a cheap hotel Near Thirsk? Try Travelodge Harrogate Hotel or Travelodge Harrogate West Park Hotel.